State commission on Arctic development starts today chaired by Dmitry Rogozin, Russian Vice Prime Minister.

Prime Minister of the Russian Federation Dmitry Medvedev formed Arctic commission on the 14 of March, 2015. The commission unites representatives of federal executive authorities; executive authorities of constituent entities of the Russian Federation (which partly or fully belong to Arctic zone); Presidential Envoys of Federal districts; representatives of Administrative office of Security Council; Administration of Russian President; some other state authorities, scientific and civil society organizations.

Murmansk region in Arctic commission is represented by three people: Marina Kovtun, the Governor of Murmansk region; Gennady Matishov, Director of Murmansk Marine Biological Institute, Kola Scientific Center RAS; Vyacheslav Ruksha, Director General of FSUE “Atomflot”.

Agenda of the first meeting of State commission on Arctic development includes organization issues concerning activity of Arctic commission, issues of social and economic development of the Russian Federation in the Arctic zone, and complex project of the Northern Sea Route development as well.

Marina Kovtun together with Dmitry Rogozin will participate in the thematic exhibition devoted to Arctic development before the commission meeting.  

Information at official portal of the Government of Murmansk region http://www.gov-murman.ru/
← Back